Loading... Please wait...

Ensemble Vivant - Rags to Riches

$13.95 (You save $1.00)
In Stock

Product Description

 Catherine Wilson not only performs with Ensemble Vivant in chamber works but also has created a dazzling piano duo with fellow pianist John Arpin. Rags to Riches is full of ragtime styling and wonderful improvisations of Tin Pan Alley standards. First brought together in 1985, both were deeply interested in the jazz genre, both pianists were drawn to each other and concerts and performances soon followed. The music includes some of the best known ragtime songs ever written — including The Easy Winners, Solace and Gladiolus Rag but also includes the lesser known — Ragtime Nightingale, Rialto Ripples and Bohemia. The album was recorded in minimal takes to give the album the feel of a live concert, with its spontaneity and energy. Rags to Riches has become a classic of the genre that is still in demand.


Ensemble Vivant - Rags to Riches Track Listing:

Rags to Riches

1. Chevy Chase Foxtrot by Blake, Eubie
2. Ragtime Nightingale, for piano by Lamb, Joseph
3. Porto Rico, rag intermezzo for piano (or ensemble) by Dabney, Ford
4. Gladiolus Rag, for piano by Joplin, Scott
5. Bohemia Rag, for piano by Lamb, Joseph
6. Rialto Ripples, rag for piano by Gershwin, George
7. The Easy Winners, for piano by Joplin, Scott
8. Solace: A Mexican Serenade, for piano by Joplin, Scott
9. Pine Apple Rag, for piano by Joplin, Scott
10. Sleepy Hollow Rag, for piano by Woods, Clarence
11. Toronto Blues, for ensemble by Arpin, John

Find Similar Products by Tag

Find Similar Products by Category

Vendors Other Products

write a review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!